Traces of Hidden Memories

fine art project final.bmp
This is my final outcome displayed on the memory heart

The idea behind my fine art work is that I made a set of ‘personal postcards’, as   postcards show only a trace of a location.  Therefore I adapted the idea of postcards to show places that I have travelled.  I have also shown traces of time as on each postcard I have drawn a stamp with the date that I travelled to that place. The subject that I chose to draw for each postcard related to me in a way that each one has a story behind the image.  Each postcard is a different type of drawing using a different medium.  I displayed them on a hanging memory heart to further emphasise that these are my memories rather than popular scene and buildings that would usually go on postcards to represent the place.

Although my work was presented well and my ideas were put across clearly and neatly, it could have been improved by making it clear that there is a story behind each postcard rather than just showing that these are places that I have been.  I could have done this by writing the story on the back of each postcard where a message is usually written.  Therefore the composition would fully replicate that of an actual postcard.  In addition I only did a postcard to represent a selection of places that I have been, therefore I could have made a postcard for every place that I have been to to make the work more interesting and to completely represent my memories.  Furthermore, interest could be added by putting physical objects on the memory heart which relate to each place, for example plane tickets, milka orea wrapper, museum/art gallery tickets.  This would make it more obvious that these are holidays that I have been on as I would be using physical as well as drawn memories.

Cornwall
Cornwall
Paris
Paris
Jamaica
Jamaica
New York
New York
Barbados
Barbados
London
London
Barcelona
Barcelona
Leave a Reply

